West Hills High School

Courses

Courses

We offer the following courses.
Grade 9: college prep, honors
Grade 10: college prep, honors
Grade 11: college prep, AP Language
Grade 12: AP Literature; Expository Reading and Writing Course (ERWC) (college prep)
 
Policies - Categories and late work

Policies - Categories and late work

Please consult your syllabus and/or teacher's website for specifics.
English department policy on late work:
Final writing assignments may be submitted no later than one week from the due date at a penalty of up to half credit.  Policies as to number of days and percentages vary within those guidelines by teacher.  
 
Resources

Resources

Students should format their work according to the standards of the Modern Language Association (MLA).   Considering using Purdue University's Online Writing Lab (O.W.L.) as a resource.  
Watch the screencasts or use the Global Studies template.
WHHW English Writing Tutorial site for parents.  This relates to literature specifically but is a good general introduction to WH-specific terminology and to writing in general.
TurnItIn.com

TurnItIn.com

Common Core Standards (CCS)

Common Core Standards (CCS)

Check out the Common Core Standards  and GUHSD work on Common Core  and Common Core Release Questions
College and Career Readiness Anchor Standards

CCS grade 9/10 and 11/12 with differences highlighted for:
Writing     Reading Literature   Reading Informational Texts    Speaking and Listening    Language

Publications/yearbook is an English electives that earn elective credit but does not meet the English requirement for graduation nor the art requirement.  Starting in 2020-2021, grades 10, 11, and 12 can enroll in a second, third, or fourth year that meets the "G" requirement for A-G college admission.
 
Faculty

Faculty

 
 

teacher

room

e-mail

phone    

website

courses

TurnItIn.com

class ID by period           

TurnItIn.com enrollment key

Remind # is 81010 for all US teachers.  Text code.

Google Classroom codes

Actively Learn codes

Mr. Acosta

E-5

ajacosta@guhsd.net

9560518

Acosta's site

11

 

English for Academics

 
English Lang Dev.
 

hello    

 

Mr. Ash    

Pack Center-1

cash@guhsd.net

9560512

Ash's site

9

11

   


Mrs. Boehme

 
chairperson

Pack Den-2


 

cboehme@guhsd.net  


for yearbook

westhillsyearbook@

guhsd.net  

E-mail only


Boehme's site


11

yearbook

See the bottom of the Daily Agenda             

hello

See the bottom of the Daily Agenda   See the bottom of the Daily Agenda   See the bottom of the Daily Agenda  

Mr. Brent

A-4

tbrent@guhsd.net

9560494

Brent's 11th

Brent's 12th

10

11AP

12

 
 

welcome

Ms. Worth    

E-6

aworth@guhsd.net

9560516

Worth's site

ERWC

10

AVID
 

WORTH


Use ALL CAPS!

Mrs. Edwards     

E-7

cedwards@guhsd.net   

9560522

Edwards's site    

10

AVID
 

english    

 

Mrs. Liddell

E-2

mliddell@guhsd.net

9560524

Liddell's site

11

ERWC


 

liddell

 

Mrs. Nylund-Lieb E-1

knylundlieb@guhsd.net

Nylund-Lieb's site
ERWC
theatre

             
 

Mr. Peterson

E-3

tpeterson@guhsd.net

9560521

Peterson's site

9H

ERWC

 

wolfpack

Mrs. Romanowski

(dept chair)

E-9

jromanowski@guhsd.net

9560523

Romanowski's site

10H

12AP

 

Romo    

Mrs. Ruggles

E-10

bruggles@guhsd.net

9560517

Ruggles' site

10H

11AP

ERWC

 
 

hello

Mr. Tricarico

E-4

dtricarico@guhsd.net

9560525

Tricarico's site

9

10

 

 

hello

Mr. Rutledge (special ed support)

E-11

drutledge@guhsd.net

9560530

supports all levels

n/a    

n/a

 

 
 
Problems or questions

Problems or questions


If you have questions or concerns, please contact your student's teacher.  After that, feel free to contact the English department chair, Cece Boehme